Year 10 – Personal Learning Plan

Length: Single Semester
Contact: HASS Leader

Recommended Background

No prerequisites. This is a compulsory Stage 1 subject.

Course Description

Stage 1 of the SACE usually begins in Year 10, with students studying the Personal Learning Plan (PLP), and continues through Year 11. The PLP is a compulsory Stage 1 SACE subject worth 10 credits. Students must achieve a C grade or better.

The PLP is designed to help students make informed decisions about their personal development, learning, education and future study and/or career pathways. Students develop knowledge and skills so that they can plan their SACE learning program.

The Personal Learning Plan identifies seven relevant and useful capabilities that students will develop:
• Literacy
• Numeracy
• Information & Communication
• Technology Capability
• Creative Thinking
• Personal & Social Capability
• Intercultural Capability.

Students will also take part in a Work Experience placement for one week during Term 2.


Components of PLP assessment include:

  1. Work Experience Evaluation
  2. Career Research Investigation
  3. My Capabilities
  4. Learning and Thinking Skills
  5. Final Overview